Home > Funny, General, Vegetarianism > Me can cook veg!

Me can cook veg!

November 15, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

All the people I have met have been fascinated by the fact that I am good at cooking. (No, really! Believe it!)

But what I find as amusing is that people cannot believe that I have managed to stay 100% vegetarian even after a four year stint abroad. I have had people asking me questions ranging from “Dude! How can you not like meat? (yuck! No, thanks.)” to “I don’t know how you even stay alive without eating meat! Won’t you be malnourished?” (My answer to the second question was “Do I look like a malnourished guy?”. The whole office room laughed at that. For the record, I am about 6ft 2in tall and close to 200 pounds built from pure vegetarian diet).

From the kind of reactions I have seen, I have come to believe with all my heart that some people are afraid of vegetarians… like we have thick bark-like skin, leaves for hair, horns of wood… like the Ents of Tolkein.

Relax, people. We veggies are just as human, if not more, as you non-veggies all are.

Categories: Funny, General, Vegetarianism
  1. December 23, 2007 at 2:06 PM

    hehe.. even i’m a vegetariantoo… a pure vegetarian.. haven’t had a single vegetarian friend till about few months…people look at me like weirdo…cause after being brought up in culcutta for so many years, people wonder how i managed to be a vegetarian… considering the fact that even so called brahmins consider it fine to eat meat there! for them eggs and fish is vegetarian!

  2. December 23, 2007 at 2:27 PM

    “So-called” brahmins… thats the keyword. Makes all the difference. Heck, so many people in my family think its fine to eat cakes and other stuff containing eggs. One of my aunts even tried to justify why it is vegetarian… I had to silence her by saying it was a matter my principles and not of her opinion.

  3. January 7, 2008 at 9:57 PM

    hey Ashwin, it is nt a crime to have non-veg just bcoz ur a brahmin… but the fact that u try to ridicule others when they have non-veg is bad… After all, wat do they wanna prove to the world, hw pious they r….

  4. January 8, 2008 at 8:18 AM

    Umm… I don’t know what came across as ‘ridiculing’.

    I think you got it all wrong. When I say I don’t touch non-veg stuff, people think its fine to question it. You probably haven’t faced such situations, but I have been ridiculed for not eating non-veg in several situations and hence the post and comments. Call it ‘tit-for-tat’, if that.

    People do what they believe to be the best for themselves… but that doesn’t mean that what they do is right, either in my view or actually!

  5. May 24, 2009 at 5:54 PM

    Hi! Kindly go through my blog http://www.parppu.blogspot.com. Veg/Non-veg discussion is going on.

    Most Brahmins are to be termed as ‘lacto vegetarians’ as they drink milk and consume other dairy products. You have to stop even milk to call yourself pure vegetarian or vegan
    ALSO SEE http://www.insightjnu.blogspot.com/2005/09 notes-on-my-brahmin-self.html-71k

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

