Home > General, Life, Philosophy > Are you a “brahmana”?

Are you a “brahmana”?

December 30, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

This is a story from the Chandogya Upanishad, about a boy named as Satyakama Jabala.

“Once, Satyakama, the son of Jabala, asked his mother, ‘I want to live as a brahmacari. Which dynasty (gotra) do I belong to?’ Jabala answered, ‘My son, I do not know which dynasty you belong to; in my youth I served as a midservant in various places and at that time begot you as my son. Therefore I don’t know which gotra you belong to. My name is Jabala and your name is Satyakama. Therefore you should say that your name is Satyakama Jabala.’

Thereafter Satyakama Jabala approached Haridrumata Gautama and said, ‘I wish to live with you as a brahmacari.’ Gautama replied, ‘O gentle one, which dynasty do you belong to?’ Satyakama replied, ‘ I do not know which dynasty I belong to. I asked my mother and she said, ‘I begot you as my son when I was wandering in my youth as a maidservant. Therefore I do not know which dynasty you belong to. My name is Jabala and your name is Satyakama. So I am called Satyakama Jabala.’ Gautama then said to him, ‘My dear son, no one other than a brahmana can speak such truth that you have spoken. Therefore you are a brahmana, and I accept you’.

I wonder how many so called ‘brahmins’ of the present age can really call themselves as “Brahmanas” based on this yardstick.

Categories: General, Life, Philosophy
  1. January 12, 2008 at 1:25 PM

    0

    That was a very easy question, the last two lines.

    Destination Infinity.

  2. Help the Poor
    October 12, 2010 at 8:21 AM

    Truth is the only gotra.
    Satyame Vijayathe!
    Do Brahmins possess the truth? Do they believe in the truth? Do they abide by truth?
    Doing the right thing is the only Karma, Dharma and Yog and this is the only marg.
    Idols do not eat, nor see, nor breathe. How can we say we have given bhog to this idol and made donation to this mandir and yet done nothing to help our fellow man?
    We can give milk to snakes but not to other hungry and starving children.
    We decorate the devi’s idol with garlands, yet we insult the avatar that begs before us for her lunch. That is why we are not making much progress with uplifting our brothers and sister from poverty. What do you think if one of these many God’s were to come in person ask the people to do? Worship them or help our fellow human beings who are on their own journey to moksha. If they do not then they are as selfish as the politicians and are not god’s because true God’s have no ego’s, no moha, no maya, no krodh. They are subliminate in their creation as their creation is subliminated within them.

  3. October 13, 2010 at 6:28 PM

    Your first 3 questions make no sense.

    “Doing the right thing is the only Karma, Dharma and Yog and this is the only marg.”

    Define… What is ‘right’? What is Dharma? What is Yoga?

    You seem to be coming from the “manava seva is madhava seva” kind of ideology. Take my word for it if you will… you can never eradicate poverty. Not possible.

    “because true God’s have no ego’s, no moha, no maya, no krodh.”

    Sentimental outpour but with no true value.

    How many people did you feed this week, if I may ask?

    • October 16, 2010 at 1:14 PM

      Some commentators are spammers. Of course, I am not one of them.😀

  4. October 16, 2010 at 1:16 PM

    Nor am I.🙂

    • October 16, 2010 at 3:05 PM

      Was just trying to point out that perhaps the above commentator is. BTW, how have you been?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

