Home > Life, Marriage, Rant > This is getting weird, day after day

This is getting weird, day after day

I am thinking of documenting my search for a life partner here. I am feeling now that it will become a mega-hit in the blog (or a flop. Never mind that.😛 )

So, I see a girl’s profile today… seems like she is the only child in the family. Her description went somewhat like this. “… only child. Parents will stay with me after marriage. Will marry only after completing PG.” (she’s just completed her BE!! :O)

Riiight. A brahmin iyer girl, putting up a profile, say, 3 years in advance, with a demand that will elicit a sure shot “NO” from 99% of prospectives. Hmmm.

By the way, I am slowly beginning to understand the dynamics of this whole ‘arranged marriage’ thingy. Oh-so-many preferences on Gothras, ancestral origin, subsect… blah blah blah. I see soooo many profiles which state “Only Vadamal/ Brahacharanam people need respond”. People, remind me. Which age are we in!!? Sheesh!

Oh and this too… “only boys with H1B/ Green Card need apply” (Am I applying for a job or something?) and ” Must support her higher education” (*DING!! bulb glows overhead* Ah ha! I see it now!).

Get this… an unwritten rule that many people follow (including my parents, who do it sometimes): “If you don’t want to proceed with an alliance with a prospective bride or groom, don’t respond to their mails or calls. They will get it”. I simply respond… “No, you just made yourself look discourteous”.

I wish some girl (conditions apply :P)agrees to marry soon and spare me any more of this nonsense!! (Ok, OK!! I am just venting, alright!? Can’t a guy just vent in peace?)

Categories: Life, Marriage, Rant
  1. sasa110
    May 19, 2008 at 11:55 PM

    wow seems so cut and dried….like a job interview! hmm ure post has given me an interesting insight into how indian brahmins go about getting married! fascinating! btw u have an interesting blog!

  2. May 20, 2008 at 10:20 AM

    Well, don’t think it is this case with just brahmins. Its more prevalent than that. In some scenarios, people who have a daughter literally have to sell their souls to get her married.

    I will putting up another post on arranged marriages soon.

  3. June 19, 2008 at 5:44 AM

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Unobserving.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

