Home > Absurd, Hall of Shame, Life, Marriage > A matter of questions in a bride search

A matter of questions in a bride search

There is one issue which seems to irk so many of the prospective brides and their parents we talk to.

Why did your son come back from USA?

The million dollar question. Why the hell would someone come back to this existence in India from USA? It seems like they consider it to be big sin to come back from USA. Once in USA, stay in USA… that’s their motto.

Well, let me tell ya’all something. The decision to come back was made by ME… I didn’t even consult with my parents. I took the decision and informed them. They didn’t have any problems. So, why on earth would I have to rationalize a decision to a complete stranger, almost two-and-a-half years after I made it?

It should go without saying that the bride search is not going very strong, at least in my opinion. Girls and their parents these days are mostly unpredictable… not to mention the complete lack of courtesy. My uncle from USA was here at my home couple of weeks ago and we were shocked to hear that his colleague had to endure some really, really stupid, yet disturbing questions when he talked to some girl’s parent while searching for a bride for his son. Some of the questions are given below:

1) Would you stay with your son after his marriage? If you would be staying separately, how frequently would you visit him? ( Hint:Its not the family bond they are concerned about.)

2) How much is your net worth? How much will your son inherit?

3) Do you have a hospital near your home? How much insurance do you and your wife have?

Needless to say, the man left the place in shock. The marriage alliance never happened.

… sounds crazy?

  1. Saba Yousaf
    November 2, 2008 at 6:58 PM

    What about these questions for the guy:
    Are you even Muslim?
    Are you a racist?

  2. November 2, 2008 at 7:24 PM

    And how is your comment relevant to this post?

  3. Saba Yousaf
    November 2, 2008 at 7:27 PM

    It isn’t, It’s not my fault he won’t communicate with me properly. Just delete it.

  4. November 2, 2008 at 7:33 PM

    Lol!!.. I am the guy who did post this. So, whats your point?

  5. November 9, 2008 at 1:21 AM

    If they think that coming back from the USA was a wrong decision, don’t consider the alliance. In fact, it could also be used as a filtering tool by you. I know a lot of people who did come back and I agree with their justification.

    Destination Infinity

  6. November 9, 2008 at 10:43 PM

    DI… yeah, thats what I do. I just tell my parents to tell the ‘others’ good luck and move on. There’s no point in even discussing with them since they are just pigeon-holed in to a view that so crude and shallow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

