Home > Commercial Religion, General, Religion > Meditation mania

Meditation mania

Why are people so much obsessed with meditation? Not just one type… seems like there is a whole bunch of hi-fi names floating around.

You can’t even get some quiet place to sit down for 10 minutes these days. And you can hardly stop thinking about work and family.

Add to this the myriad of programs available… not to mention the money you spend on them… is it even worth it?

  1. September 17, 2009 at 2:14 AM

    I’ve never been able understand the point behind ‘trained’ meditation.

    Does meditation involve emptying the mind? Is it possible? Is it beneficial? I have no idea. Many times I’ve felt most at peace with myself, not by skirting difficult questions or issues in my life, but rather focusing on them with complete honesty. Either such sessions give rise to some sort of resolution to the problem, or convince me that nothing is in my hands, so that I can be at peace that I’m not supposed to do anything!

    Commercialized meditation is one of the social fads that keeps on recurring in various forms.

    Nice post!

  2. September 18, 2009 at 3:11 PM

    Meditation does require training… just as any other line of knowledge.

    My issue is with the so-called training programs… not with meditation itself. It has its uses, including some of the ones you have mentioned.🙂

  3. September 19, 2009 at 12:21 AM

    I agree with you. I was just wondering if meditation involves emptying the mind or thinking very intensely on an issue.

    I’ve been in both states of mind on multiple occasions, and the feeling of peace they result in was exactly the same. So, I was questioning which of the two is meditation?

  4. September 19, 2009 at 9:00 AM

    I am not the expert on meditation, but what I can tell you is its just a temporary clarity that comes in. It goes away as soon real world issues cloud in.

  5. September 20, 2009 at 2:27 AM

    See, here’s the fundamental difference between your and my thinking.

    You feel there’s some other world too apart from the ‘real world’. I’ll not ask you for the evidence for the existence of some other world, but to me, practically, it does not exist! I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being engrossed with this ‘real world’ for I believe, that’s the only world we have! Also, the current world itself is pretty interesting and engaging!😉

    If you do like poetry, you’ll find this one somewhat similar to what you said above🙂 :

    http://ketanpanchal.blogspot.com/2009/03/one-moment-of-clarity.html

    TC.

  6. September 20, 2009 at 10:17 AM

    That’s a long shot in imagination, even for you.

    Nowhere have I mentioned anything about ‘some other world’. But, you are free to assume what you like. Just don’t expect me to play along.

  7. September 20, 2009 at 5:22 PM

    I’ve not insinuated anything in your response. But still I apologize if you felt that way.

    If some one says ‘artificial flavor’, it is implicit that some other kind of flavor exists, viz., ‘natural flavor’. If there would have been only one kind of flavor, qualifiers like artificial and natural would’ve never come in vogue.

    What did your qualifies real in ‘real world’ indicate?

  8. September 21, 2009 at 12:15 PM

    By ‘real’ I mean the day-to-day world we live in. Meditation allows your mind to be retracted in from its many indulgences and hold it steady in focus. What that focus is on differs between different schools of philosophy. But it is never projected as alternate reality, simple an extension of this same real existence.

    Tell me, when you are experiencing a dream, is it ‘imaginary’ or ‘real’? Grey area… agreed?

  9. September 21, 2009 at 11:32 PM

    So you mean what you’d focus on while meditating is some specific aspect of the ‘real world’, i.e., you day-to-day life? If that’s what you meant, then there was indeed a misinterpretation on my part, but I was genuinely not insinuating anything in what you stated. If you go back to your original comment, just think how was I not to interpret what I eventually did?

    As far as I see it, dreams are entirely imaginary as their content is not a real time reproduction of sensory perceptions. This is so because in our sleep, while dreaming, all our sensory modalities are ‘closed’. But if some day, in future, it is discovered that sensations, while we’re sleeping indeed affect our dreams, then they would be both imaginary with their course somewhat determined by what is ‘real’. But as of now, I because of reasons I pointed out, consider dreams to be imaginary.

  10. September 22, 2009 at 11:44 AM

    If dreams are imaginary, how do we then explain the reactions of our body that happen due to or while in a dream?

  11. September 22, 2009 at 11:23 PM

    Ambi,

    Are you implying that dreams have a component of reality because we exhibit emotional responses to them? What did you exactly mean by “reactions”?

  12. September 23, 2009 at 10:24 AM

    Haha… I asked you a question, Ketan. I am not implying anything. Not emotional… but physical reactions. Say, when I dream of something like being chased by a tiger, and I suddenly wake up, my heart rate is elevated and body is perspiring… that kind of reaction.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

