Home > Blogging, General > Are you receptive to critical comments?

Are you receptive to critical comments?

September 4, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Over the last 6 years of my presence in the blogging world, one thing I have seen is that when you put up your opinion in a public domain, do not expect just praise from everyone. You will most certainly have critical comments from some people. Your reputation in the blogging world will also be affected by the way you respond to such comments.

There are people who can handle critical comments with grace and others who do just the opposite.

I have been involved in an interaction with Radha Chandran at Gingerchai and I am impressed at the way she as well as Mr. Lakshmi Rajan have been handling it. Nicely done.

Categories: Blogging, General
  1. September 7, 2009 at 1:56 PM

    Hi Ambi ,

    You brought smile in my face reading this post. Thanks. Its a pleasure knowing you too. I always believe one person’s world may differ from another one and so respect the difference in perspective.

    At GingerChai.com , I strive to bring that values only. We can always agree to disagree.

    Take care.

  2. September 7, 2009 at 2:18 PM

    I am just giving credit where it is due…πŸ™‚

  3. September 7, 2009 at 2:41 PM

    Am really sorry for what happened! That was one of my friend who deleted that comment because she gave me that translation! I hope you understand my position! But i have removed the wrong meaning! Thanks for correcting me and apologize me for whatever happened!
    β€œβ€ the other verse quoted in another post of yours has a correct translation””
    That was translated by me! So it cant have errs! But i cant understand why you hyperlinked my post here!! :O

    By this time you would have understood!
    even you can see her name in the end in small scripts which is there still in my blog! You can verify it! I felt really embarrassed after reading that am not receptive to comments!

  4. September 7, 2009 at 3:09 PM

    Shruti, the post was nice (apart from the mistake)… and hence the link.

    But the factual error is this: the post’s import was such that the 17th chapter of the Bhagavad-Gita was spoken in response to a question asked by Arjuna on the 17th day of the war.

    This is wrong, since the entire Bhagavad-Gita was spoken on the first day, even before the battle began.

    Take it easy.

  5. September 7, 2009 at 3:13 PM

    Ok fine! But still, i feel embarrassed!
    Chuck it!
    Keep Writing and keep smiling!

  6. September 7, 2009 at 3:47 PM

    Check the post.

    Happy?πŸ˜‰

  7. September 7, 2009 at 3:56 PM

    Btw, allowing your friend or anyone else to have ‘full’ access to your blog account is probably not the wisest thing to do. I had a friend who got his entire blog deleted by one person with whom he shared the blog.

  8. September 7, 2009 at 4:10 PM

    @ambi
    Thank you so much re!!
    Am happy!
    Yes took your advice on allowing friends!
    Thanks!!πŸ™‚
    Btw,hereaft it will be me who will accept all comments..so feel free and be my critic,whenever i do a mistake!

  9. September 17, 2009 at 1:09 AM

    Hello!

    Actually, it’s very difficult to self-assess if I’m open to criticism or not or handle it well enough. I might get a bit miffed if I feel the respondent comments without reading the post carefully ‘cuz I try really hard to maintain a certain clarity of thoughts.

    So, I’ll direct you to two of my posts. First one had generated a lot of debate, so to assess, you’ll have to go through most of the post, as well as at least some of the comments. Second one is very short, but respondents had really varied views, but I’ve not responded to most of them, but only towards the end. Third one is relatively short but involves only one respondent. Of course, you may comment on them:

    http://ketanpanchal.blogspot.com/2009/08/do-i-deserve-pink-chaddis.html

    http://ketanpanchal.blogspot.com/2009/05/moral-brain-teaser.html

    http://ketanpanchal.blogspot.com/2009/04/worship.html

    I’ve blogrolled you and am following your blog now onwards.

    Take care.

  10. September 18, 2009 at 11:33 AM

    I think it is important to have critical comments in blogs. It helps both the commenter and the blog author to see things in different light.

    Destination Infinity

  11. September 18, 2009 at 12:25 PM

    @Ketan: you type too muchπŸ™‚

    And most of the time, its difficult for me to keep focus and understand what you are trying to say. May be you can take some time to read through your article before posting and see if it can be compacted.

    And the narrow reading area offered by your template doesn’t make it easier.😦

  12. September 19, 2009 at 12:35 AM

    Thanks Ambi for pointing out the limitations posed by the narrow reading area. Do you use a normal CRT monitor or wide-screen one?

    Actually, I don’t know html (obviously!), and I’d converted one sidebar into two sidebars as there was too much material to include in just one.

    I’m aware of the second problem you pointed out.πŸ™‚

    I realized that when I started contributing on Wikipedia. But I seem verbose maybe because, I try to be very specific in what I state. I wouldn’t want the reader to struggle between two close possible interpretations.

    For instance there is a difference between I do not like eating bread and I dislike eating bread. Former would mean, if given a choice, I’d prefer eating something other than bread, but if there’s no such choice, my mood wouldn’t be spoilt. Whereas, latter would mean, I’d actively avoid eating bread, and put in special efforts to eat something else, and if no such option is available, I’d eat less than would be required to satisfy my hunger, and also feel ‘bad’ about eating bread.

    See ironically, I’d to give such a long explanation for your short question!πŸ˜‰

    But yes, I’ve been trying to improve on brevity, that’s why had started writing 55 word-fiction.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/55_Fiction#Criteria_for_55_Fiction

    TC.

  13. September 19, 2009 at 8:58 AM

    Haha… you just did it again. For a simple issue of narrow reading space and for a statement that you type too much, you did type too much again!!πŸ™‚

  14. September 20, 2009 at 6:07 AM

    And you still didn’t answer if you use a conventional CRT monitor or a wide-screen one?πŸ™‚

  15. September 20, 2009 at 9:36 AM

    I use a 17″ LCD…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

