Nithy nonsense

I wanted to put up an article on the recently, publicly disgraced Nithyananda (no Paramahamsa, no Swamiji… fair enough, I guess).

I had absolutely no interest in this guy even when he was writing articles left and right on several magazines. But I wanted to do some research in to this guy before putting up a post.

And I came across this text which was supposedly in one of the multitude of banners on the highways near Mysore…

I am not here to prove that I am God. I am here to prove that You are God.

I stopped reading after that one and decided this guy was not worth my time to write about.

But I still decided to put this post up so that I can display one of the most stupid captions I have seen in a long time.

  1. March 31, 2010 at 1:28 AM

    Totall agree.πŸ™‚

    I too hate this kind of mass-sycophancy (for want of a better term).

    By the way, I just happened to read about Carvaka thought system. And was extremely impressed. But for unknown reasons it could not survive.😦 However, it seemed to have strongly criticized the likes of Nithyananda!πŸ˜‰

    Unfortunate part is that it was considered to be one of the three Nastik schools of thoughts, and was for practical purposes disowned by Vedic system, just like Jainism and Buddhism. I found all this written on Wikipedia; don’t know if your knowledge conflicts with this impression of mine.

  2. March 31, 2010 at 8:40 PM

    Of what you term as the nastik school (seems like you have a concern on why Carvaka’s system was termed as ‘nastik’?), there are two major divisions… one school which completely rejects Vedas as authority (Veda Bahyas) and one school which accepts the Vedas as authority but provides a convoluted philosophy (Veda Kudrishtis) which looks like in sync with Vedic philosophy but it is actually misrepresentation.

    It is actually Jainism, Buddhism or Carvaka’s Lokayata system that disowned the Vedic system… not the other way around. (and these are not the only schools that did that. There were several others like these).

    The reasons why Carvaka’s system did not survive would probably be so because other ancient Acharyas would have used Vedic philosophy to defeat Carvaka’s followers in debates and through elaborate treatises which are available even today for scrutiny. Ramanujacarya’s vishishtadvaita and his ‘Sri Bhasya’ comes to my mind immediately.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

