Home > General, International, Rant, Travel, Vegetarianism > Food, food everywhere, not a bite to eat…

Food, food everywhere, not a bite to eat…

September 4, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

It has been a very long time since I posted anything. Work, family… nuff said.

My new job has me traveling quite a bit overseas. Being a vegetarian, I did expect that ‘eatable’ food would be a bit hard to get. But I didn’t expect it to be this hard.

I am in a place (won’t mention where) which brims with ‘food’ all around but if I ever need to get something to eat, I have to spend 2 minutes explaining what I want and what ingredients should not be used. The only places where I can confidently step in are some of the few Indian run restaurants, but even there I keep a wary eye to ensure the waiters don’t accidentally mix something in my food which I cannot have.

These folks don’t have an idea of food without meat, fish or eggs. Every single damn food item, even rice, has some thing mixed in it. The range of stuff that ends up on these folk’s plate would put a normal Indian non-vegetarian to shame. I have actually seen my colleagues, who claim to eat anything that walks, flies, crawl or swim, have second thoughts at trying some of the food choices. And not knowing the local language makes things worse.

The hotel I stay in claims to be the newest, finest hotel in town but there is not one item in the hotel’s menu (except juices, fruits and grain bread) that does not contain meat. I never had this problem even when I lived in USA for a couple of years.

Can’t wait to get back home. Sad part is my trips are not over yet.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

