Home > General, Hall of Shame, Life, People, Rant > Q? What Q?

Q? What Q?

How many of you actually ‘fall in line’ when you have to? No, really… do you actually make a conscious effort to get in a Q and also ensure that others do the same? This phenomenon has been written to death all over the net, even getting branded as an Indian attitude problem. What a shame!

I absolutely hate it when people jump the line… and more so when they display an attitude of “its beneath me to stand in line”. But the worst of the lot are those who react as if they have heard a ‘asariri’ (disembodied, ethereal) voice when I berate them politely. They look in all directions (as if I was speaking to someone else) and make one more push towards getting further up in the line.

It pains me to see even (modern!) mothers encouraging their kids to “not stand there simply looking and barge in front to get the bill done fast”. I have lost count on the number of occasions when I gently chided kids to get back in line at the local supermarket only to get glared at by the ‘protective’ parent! I have been yelled at by line jumpers who claim ‘I was already at the counter before you… had to go back and get some additional stuff”, and my response was “you might have stood here yesterday or day before… but the line is for today”.

If the people’s attitude (culture, bringing up, whatever) is to be blamed, it also has to be shared by the commercial establishments and the counter in-charges. Lack of common sense rules related to crowd control is the core issue. “Saar, oru item thaane, parava illai”… (Sir, only one item no… its ok)… this is a statement I keep hearing so many times. The number of occasions I have been ‘side stepped’ by a counter employee in favor of another person lunging in with a single item to bill are far too many and every single time I have made it a point to give them as much as an earful possible in 10 seconds.

You don’t have to be as ‘stuck up’ as me… but please… next time, make sure you fall in line and speak up when someone doesn’t do so.

(partially inspired by the video of Mr. Chiranjeevi scolded by a voter at the polling booth for cutting the line.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

